Trust celebrates its star staff

Doris - Rising Star
Trust celebrates its star staff
14 March 2013

DEDICATED staff at East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust have been honoured in a special awards ceremony.

The Star Awards are the Trust’s staff recognition award scheme which saw 10 winners from departments across all services in East Lancashire rewarded for their hard work and dedication.

Ian Brandwood, Director of Human Resources, said: “The awards provide a platform to celebrate and share the best in our organisation – projects, services and people who are passionate, innovative and committed to providing excellent care. The award night acknowledged the excellent efforts of those staff who go the extra mile to make a real difference for their patients and their colleagues.”

With over 120 nominations from patients and staff, the short list was decided by external judges from suppliers, consultancy, training and patient organisations.  

Sheena Byrom, former Head of Midwifery, and one of the STAR Awards judges, commented: “I was overwhelmed by the passion, commitment and drive of those we talked to. I felt proud to have once worked in the same organisation as these individuals, and reassured that they potentially could be caring for me and my family during our lives.”

Mark Brearley, Chief Executive of East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust, said: “We hold the Star Awards annually to thank our staff who work so hard all year round.

“It was a very special evening and just a small show of appreciation for our amazing workforce.”

The winners and awards given out over the evening were:

Clinical Worker of the Year - Shirley Aspin, Respiratory Nurse, Royal Blackburn Hospital

Non-Clinical Worker of the Year – Julie Parker, Domestic, Children’s Day Unit, Burnley General Hospital

Rising Star - Jade Whalley, Infant Feeding Support Worker, Postnatal Ward, Burnley General Hospital

Learner of the Year - Janet Oliver & Julie Charnock, Advanced Nurse Practitioners, Emergency Department, Royal Blackburn Hospital

Innovation & Quality Improvement Award - The Surgical Triage Team

Outstanding Achievement Award - Georgina Robertson, Consultant, Emergency Department

Leadership Award - Sheran Perera, Clinical Director, Community & Neurodevelopmental Paediatrics

Team of the Year – Burnley General Hospital Portering Team

Unsung Hero Award - Doris Iveson, Volunteer, Pendle Community Hospital

Chair’s Choice Award - Lorraine Phillips, Housekeeper, Medical Assessment Unit, Royal Blackburn Hospital

The Awards were presented at a special event on February 28th at the Mytton Fold Hotel, Langho. All costs for the event were covered through generous sponsorship from local, regional and national organisations.